Paleo 2.0: becoming an archevore

Or at least giving this a shot. I’ve been on a mostly paleo-type diet for a couple of months now. Overall things have been okay, except I started to notice a real drop in energy. This could be a number of things. I started eating beans again and noticed a rise in my energy levels. (But then I also started doing some other things that I’ll write about later.) I’d read a lot of bad things about beans on paleo sites and had always wondered about some of the info I found there.

Yesterday I happened upon a cool site by a doctor named Kurt Harris, and I’m quite impressed. He has a no-nonsense approach to things, while not taking it all too seriously. He takes health seriously, but he seems to have his head on straight about it. In other words, he seems to value facts more than wishful thinking and hyperbole.

So, what is an archevore? He defines it as “one who eats of the essentials”. Sounds good to me.

Here are a couple of links to check out:

Archevore Diet

A Dietary Manifesto – Paleo 2.0

A big part of what he talks about is eliminating neolithic agents of disease (NADs) from your diet. And yes I did chuckle the first time I read NADs. Some simple rules, as I understand them (and taken directly from the second link above):

Wheat

Stick with potatoes, sweet potatoes or root veggies for your starch, and stop eating bread, cookies, cakes and other baked goods.

Excess Fructose

Fructose is easily minimized by simply refusing to eat processed food that comes in a box (especially “low fat” foods), and by refusing to drink caloric drinks like soda pop and fruit juices and sports drinks.

Excess Linoleic acid

The way to correct the modern excess of n-6 linoleic acid is to avoid the modern sources of it. Stop eating all temperate vegetable oils and veggie oil fried food- cooking and frying oils like corn, soy, canola, flax, all of it. And go easy on the nuts and factory chicken. These are big sources of n-6, especially the nuts and nut oils.

***

This all seems reasonable enough to me and is a big part of what I was doing already. However, I hadn’t really taken eliminating the seed oils as seriously as I do now. I’ve rid my pantry of a lot of things on my “do not eat” list and have stocked myself up with more things on my “do eat” list. Also, I think it makes sense to not eliminate some things altogether, and adding some legumes back into the mix was a definite positive.

A work in progress, I’ll let you know how it goes.

7 thoughts on “Paleo 2.0: becoming an archevore

  1. Kurt Harris is the man. His was one of the first paleo (low-carb, archevore, whatever) blogs I found, and it’s still one of the best.

    I’ve talked to a good number of people whose energy levels are much higher while eating paleo with occasional rise/legumes with meals, especially guys who train a lot.

    • Right on man. Yeah, he seems to really have it together. I’d not heard of him before. I love his approach and writing style. It is just irreverent enough, but also quite detailed and he makes sense of a lot of contradictory information for me.

  2. This is actually what I started doing when I discovered paleo and it has worked out great. Been doing it for four months now. Granted I have way to compare it to “full paleo” since I’ve never done it. But there was no way I was going to cut out starches and diary while trying to bulk up. For me the main thing is cutting out the gluten. I occasionally eat wheat now, but whenever I do I get a headache and feel bloated and oddly dehydrated.

    • How is your energy level? It sounds like you lift so I’m wondering. I lift as well, though nothing too intense, mostly Javorek complexes and bench presses, and only 1 or 2 times a week.

      • Actually I have been doing Starting Strength, the program developed by Mark Rippetoe: http://startingstrength.wikia.com/wiki/FAQ:The_Program
        I try to eat a huge caloric surplus to maximize muscle gains but judging from the article it sounds like I might be eating too many pistachios (taste great, lots of protein and lots of fat). Since I started lifting, switched to bacon and eggs for breakfast every morning instead of a bagel like I was doing before, and made sure I was getting 8 hours of sleep I have had absolutely no problems with energy or tiredness. I’m 20 by the way.

  3. It is funny that you made this post since I have sometime following your blog, mainly for the seduction post you make, but also for the Seneca and philosophies quality quotes. Also is crazy that I found you by looking for Taoism.
    Anyway I have been Paleoish since 2010 and my main influences are Kurt Harris, Richard Nikoley, Mark Sisson and Jack Kruse.
    Check them all if you hasn’t already. I personally like to summarize the Paleo “diet” like Richard at Free the Animal does it:
    “Paleo isn’t a diet, it’s a framework that includes equator to arctic/antarctic circle and sea level to 16,000 feet and everything in between.
    What we can be sure of is one thing: our ancestors evolved eating a wide variety of animal and plant matter. That’s simply a fact. It will never go away and anyone attempting to hand wave it away is immediately dismissed out-of-hand”

    • Right on, thanks for the tips on those other authors, I’ll check them out. How’s your health and energy since going paleoish? I’m guessing good and possibly better than before or you wouldn’t have stuck with it?

Your comments are welcome and encouraged

